Developer's Blog
Register Low Fi Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2012, 02:10 AM   #1
KekoooVA
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 42
KekoooVA is offline

Default [Help] PC for DotA 2


Hello folks, i'm argentinian and my sister is in Miami right now, i asked her to buy a PC for me since prices are ~50% lower than the ones here.

The question is: is this PC good for playing DotA 2 in HD and Ultra settings?

http://www.compusa.com/applications/...srkey=B69-0590

The options are that one, or changing the processor and motherboard for a FX Bulldozer 6100 and a 970 chipset motherboard. That would be around $480.

But since the sale has a nice discount i'd like to know if it's worth it.

What do you think?

Thanks in advance.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 02:31 AM   #2
Alcoholic_panda
Member
 
Alcoholic_panda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 259
Alcoholic_panda is offline
Default Re: [Help] PC for DotA 2

I'm Argentinian also, and honestly, that PC is THE shit, is so awesome I wanna cry, I have an Athlon II x2 7750be(The new kuma), with 2 gigs ram, an IDE 7200rpm hard disk and a 8600 GT.

I hope sincerely that you enjoy your PC.
__________________

Thank you Foedebear, for helping me with this .
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 02:41 AM   #3
Slyfox101
Member
 
Slyfox101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 353
Slyfox101 is offline
Default Re: [Help] PC for DotA 2

Yes, you will be fine.

More than you need in that package for just DotA 2, but it's a good streamlined gaming PC that should last you at least a couple of years.

Go for it, great price.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 02:53 AM   #4
YoTengoUnLCD
Member
 
YoTengoUnLCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lujan, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 1,862
YoTengoUnLCD is offline
Default Re: [Help] PC for DotA 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by KekoooVA View Post
Hello folks, i'm argentinian and my sister is in Miami right now, i asked her to buy a PC for me since prices are ~50% lower than the ones here.

The question is: is this PC good for playing DotA 2 in HD and Ultra settings?

http://www.compusa.com/applications/...srkey=B69-0590

The options are that one, or changing the processor and motherboard for a FX Bulldozer 6100 and a 970 chipset motherboard. That would be around $480.

But since the sale has a nice discount i'd like to know if it's worth it.

What do you think?

Thanks in advance.
Yo, posting for the sake of being Argentinian.

Bulldozer processors are pretty subpar, they consume a lot of energy and their results are unimpressive, go for either a Phenom X4 or an I5.

My specs are:
1090T @ 3.65ghz
HIS6870
4Gigs ddr3 ram @ 1800mhz

It plays Dota2 just fine at max graphics, it sometimes lags.
If I were you, I'd go for the I5 configuration as it is considerably better at games than phenom processors.

Hope I helped.

E: forgot to add, I play at a 1600x1200 res, with max graphics.
Getting an average of 50fps
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GodlyKha View Post
Or clone me, raise the clone as your child for a few decades, and then have the clone be your meepo player at least until he undergoes an existential crisis and engages in brave and brazen yet petty heroics in an attempt to differentiate himself from the real clan_iraq and make a legacy of his own so he doesn't live in my shadow, at which point you as his father are forced to make the tragic decision to put him down with his cerebral remote explosive implant so that the bloodshed comes to an end, and emotionally shattered by your choice you turn to drink and become a broken man living out of bars and with a syringe always in your veins until a pretty redhead comes into your life and
where was i
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 02:55 AM   #5
SlamBam
Member
 
SlamBam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Administrative Tools
Posts: 815
SlamBam is offline
Default Re: [Help] PC for DotA 2

Good specs for a great price, it should be able to run Dota 2 at the highest graphics settings, giving you an average of 60 FPS
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 11:02 AM   #6
KekoooVA
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 42
KekoooVA is offline
Default Re: [Help] PC for DotA 2

thanks to all.

i know i could get a much better pc, but that price is like... impossible to match.

my main concern is the 760G chipset. i don't really know what it does but everyone says it's important.

spanish: esa pc está como $1.300.- me faltaría la fuente y el gabinete nomás. ah y un ventiladorcito
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 09:19 AM   #7
FreeBorN
Member
 
FreeBorN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hungary, Szentendre
Posts: 1,849
FreeBorN is offline
Default Re: [Help] PC for DotA 2

I have an AMD Phenom II x4 955
I suggest you buy this cooler: ArcticFreezer 13 Pro
The stock cooler for AMD Phenom II 9xx just goes crazy loud when you play Dota 2.

If you get this cooler it's very important to place it with one exact move and fix it with the screws. If you jerk around too much the thermal paste can get to thin or air can go under it drastically reducing heat conduction.


Furthermore My 955 stock 3,2GHz can be OC-ed with the following settings:
1.3875 Volts, 203 Ref clcok, 19,5X multipiler = 3965Mhz~ 3,96GHz
Does not heat over 53-54 °C while playing Dota2 if my PC is taken out from the desk and the sides are taken off. But if you wanna OC get the ArcticFreezer Pro! DONT TRY TO OC WITH STOCK COOLER!
Oc-ing the CPU gives me an increase in fps from 65-95 to 85-120

If you want constant 120 fps with the current Dota2 go for a Corei5 2300 or better.

Also I have a GTX 560 Ti And I'm using 16x aniso + 8 AA and the card can still deal with the game, the only limitation for me is the CPU.
So a 550 Ti may perform somewhat weaker but you should be fine by not using AA.

Oh and if you use AA, use it from NVidia control panel, Dota2's inbuilt AA sucks balls, it makes the game blurry as hell.
__________________
http://steamcommunity.com/id/free_born/
Click on it for full size.



  Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 10:29 AM   #8
Denisgsv
Member
 
Denisgsv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 325
Denisgsv is offline
Default Re: [Help] PC for DotA 2

mate ... wanted just to say its out of stock shit happens
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 10:44 AM   #9
WorstInFinLand
Member
 
WorstInFinLand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,084
WorstInFinLand is offline
Default Re: [Help] PC for DotA 2

Dota 2 has capped fps at 60, unless there is a console command to change it.
__________________
Remake to Goblin's Greed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Typhox View Post
As long as you don't always play the same champion you should be fine.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 11:09 AM   #10
quze
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 54
quze is offline
Default Re: [Help] PC for DotA 2

This PC is more than enough to run Dota 2 at high settings at 60+ fps. And don't listen to others who say that this CPU is weak, i'm playing on a rig built in 2006 new graphics card bought recently and i'm getting fps around 110 in lane and in teamfights it drops to 50 fps. Everything at high 1920x1080 resoliution.

>>WorstInFinLand if you turn vsync off in video options menu fps cap will be raised to 120 fps.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 12:03 PM   #11
DaNTe_0101
Member
 
DaNTe_0101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: India,Pune
Posts: 218
DaNTe_0101 is offline
Default Re: [Help] PC for DotA 2

yes you will be fine running dota 2, but you'll not enjoy MUCH in game probably
just my xperience bro
__________________


We share dota 2 video guides and other updates.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 01:59 PM   #12
Mtndew
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 115
Mtndew is offline
Default Re: [Help] PC for DotA 2

The 550 is a pretty weak card, you can google benchmarks at your own discretion. I would definitely recommend upgrading to the am3+, it's just tits for gaming. Will you be able to run Dota2 flawlessly? Yes, unless you have terrible Internet. Just don't expect to play more demanding games on ultra (but you'll be fine on high with the hardcore stuff turned down/off) like BF3, witcher2, skyrim heavily modded, etc.

But the glorious thing about computer gaming is you can always upgrade down the road and the am3+ CPU and mobo will allow you to do that without bottlenecks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 02:17 PM   #13
InvokerofTime
Forum Manager
 
InvokerofTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: London
Posts: 9,077
InvokerofTime is offline
Default Re: [Help] PC for DotA 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mtndew View Post
The 550 is a pretty weak card, you can google benchmarks at your own discretion. I would definitely recommend upgrading to the am3+, it's just tits for gaming. Will you be able to run Dota2 flawlessly? Yes, unless you have terrible Internet. Just don't expect to play more demanding games on ultra (but you'll be fine on high with the hardcore stuff turned down/off) like BF3, witcher2, skyrim heavily modded, etc.

But the glorious thing about computer gaming is you can always upgrade down the road and the am3+ CPU and mobo will allow you to do that without bottlenecks.
yes but for the price.....
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 02:38 PM   #14
KekoooVA
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 42
KekoooVA is offline
Default Re: [Help] PC for DotA 2

it's out of stock... lasted less than 24 hours.

anyway, i've put my eyes on this one
http://www.compusa.com/applications/...srkey=b69-0558

thanks to everyone. i'm sure it will run dota2 perfectly in ultra specs.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 06:07 PM   #15
Foede
Forum Manager
 
Foede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Elysian Fields
Steam: foede
Posts: 18,060
Awesome 
Foede is online now
Default Re: [Help] PC for DotA 2

Moved to Gadgets+Tech.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 01:02 AM   #16
fr0zenknife
Member
 
fr0zenknife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,007
Blog Entries: 4
fr0zenknife is offline
Default Re: [Help] PC for DotA 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by WorstInFinLand View Post
Dota 2 has capped fps at 60, unless there is a console command to change it.
Do you know what Vsync does?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 06:05 AM   #17
SmellyJelly
Member
 
SmellyJelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: From Past
Posts: 2,868
Blog Entries: 1
SmellyJelly is offline
Default Re: [Help] PC for DotA 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by fr0zenknife View Post
Do you know what Vsync does?
He's semi-right though. But your correct too.

All source games had default fps cap 60-72 , to remove it (unless vsync is on fps_max 999)
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 12:43 PM   #18
KekoooVA
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 42
KekoooVA is offline
Default Re: [Help] PC for DotA 2

i finally got:

mobo m5a97 asus (970 chipset)
proc amd fx 6100 black edition (?)
graphics msi R6670 1gb gddr5
psu thermaltake 750w bronze
ram 2x4gb vengeance (corsair) ddr3
hdd western digital caviar blue 500gb

i think it will run dota2 and wow in ultra at +60fps, maybe i'll have to lower graphics on raids and high populated areas.

and it *hurt* $575.-

can wait for her to get home lol
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 09:43 PM   #19
ChildLikEmperor
Administrator
 
ChildLikEmperor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney, Toronto, New York
Posts: 6,601
Awesome 
ChildLikEmperor is offline
Default Re: [Help] PC for DotA 2

AMD processor... ouch. No matter how much you paid you could have gotten better value from an intel chip
__________________


  Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 01:16 PM   #20
KekoooVA
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 42
KekoooVA is offline
Default Re: [Help] PC for DotA 2

well... i gathered tons of information on this matter. looks like intel processors are better, but more costly, and in cost/benefit, amd looks way better.
for the price ($130.-) i could have got an i3-2100, i3-2120, i3-2105, i3-550. or, for $20 more, an i3-2125...

i really think that the fx-6100 is way better than all those.

what do you say?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 12:42 PM   #21
teStud0
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pearl of the Orient Seas
Steam: arcsinti
Posts: 3,048
Blog Entries: 3
teStud0 is offline
Default Re: [Help] PC for DotA 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by KekoooVA View Post
well... i gathered tons of information on this matter. looks like intel processors are better, but more costly, and in cost/benefit, amd looks way better.
for the price ($130.-) i could have got an i3-2100, i3-2120, i3-2105, i3-550. or, for $20 more, an i3-2125...

i really think that the fx-6100 is way better than all those.

what do you say?
If your just basing it on the number of cores then you are just way off I'm afraid.

Thing is its already given that AMD will never match Intel's raw processing power, the main killer is Bulldozer's crazy power consumption. AFAIK It's almost twice as an Intel comparison, this is by OC'ing and in the end Intel still beats Bulldozer by a small margin.

The only palatable reason to go AMD is if the FX-4100 was cheaper than the i3 Sandybridge, otherwise it's Intel all the way (unfortunately). This is coming from an AMD user who was really bummed when I saw BD's initial benchmarks.
__________________
Playing since 6.27b [2006]
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 01:20 PM   #22
KekoooVA
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 42
KekoooVA is offline
Default Re: [Help] PC for DotA 2

i don't really take the amount of cores as a the main measure of comparison, what i've learn to look the most is user's opinions, guides, reviews, etc.
looks like intel is better, i never denied it, but is it still better for the SAME price?

is an i3-21xx better than a fx-6100 or fx-4170? i think it isn't, am i right?

besides, if both are 3.3ghz, and amd actually has more cores, doesn't that make it better? at least in processor performance?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 08:52 PM   #23
ChildLikEmperor
Administrator
 
ChildLikEmperor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney, Toronto, New York
Posts: 6,601
Awesome 
ChildLikEmperor is offline
Default Re: [Help] PC for DotA 2

The i3 will outperform just about any AMD processor, let alone the fx-6100 :/
__________________


  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 01:48 PM   #24
Xmarksthegank
Member
 
Xmarksthegank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,019
Xmarksthegank is offline
Default Re: [Help] PC for DotA 2

Bulldozer makes sense for some, very specific, server applications because they support some features which are only available on the higher-end CPUs when it comes to the Intel side of things.

Regardless, for home user, Intel is better.

Dota 2 doesn't take much to run well, so it will play just fine.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 10:58 AM   #25
KekoooVA
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 42
KekoooVA is offline
Default Re: [Help] PC for DotA 2

yeah, i've been playing like 3 matches in max settings and in a led tv 32'' 1368x720 i think it is, cause it's tv's max res.
now i will wait a month before playing wow again and testing the pc there

thanks to everyone
  Reply With Quote
Reply
  Entertainment Gadgets & Tech


Forum Jump

Thread Tools