Developer's Blog
Register Low Fi Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-29-2010, 10:18 PM   #1
Estraz
Member
 
Estraz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,170
Estraz is offline

Default Hotkeys and Control groups


I hope dota chat is the right subforum for this ^^ Not quite sure, if not feel free to move it.

Basically, I am currently using 3,4,5,6 for my first four inventory slots, so I can use items more instantly rather than having to move my hand to numpad. However, on heroes with micro involved, such as old weaver and current NA (urna swarm), I'm having a lack of control groups because of it. Using 1 for a courier leaves me with one single key for swarms, so I usually end up putting my courier at 0 or so, which requires me to move my hand for using it (courier's situational so it's alright, but in some situations it's still fucked up, got my courier killed last game, for example).

Anyway, I'm not the kind of guy putting all my swarms in one control group and just spamming silence, at least not most of the time. I try scouting as well etc, and I have to have individual hotkeys for them. However, my hotkeys screw that up.

So, to get to the point: what hotkeys do you use? With what program? Where could I possibly put my inventory slots so they're still easily reachable but do not interfere with skill hotkeys? Do you put your skills at some kind of standard keys (QWER or whatever)? I'm using warkeys atm, and I'm sure it has all the possibilities I need, though I couldn't quite get it to work the way I wanted when I tried setting it for OMG mode (double hotkeys ftl). So please, if you have some great setup, please share your secrets with me.

Last... my Razor hotkeys are fucked up, and I have no clue as to why. All heroes I play have their original skill hotkeys, but for some reason Razor's plasma field is on R, and what's worse, his ultimate is on K. Does anyone have this issue, or know what causes it / how to fix?

Thanks in advance and sorry for the bother.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 10:25 PM   #2
Skaloon
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 3,672
Skaloon is offline
Default Re: Hotkeys and Control groups
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

DOTA Customkey Generator

hmm i tried out a lot of ways.

for example:

skills: 1. W 2. E 3. R 4. F
special skills: 1. C 2. V
items: 1. D 2. T 3. G
Commands: Attack - A, Stop - S, Hold - Q

I know it's not the best choice but i'm trying this one out
  Reply With Quote
Last edited by Skaloon; 03-29-2010 at 10:33 PM.
Old 03-29-2010, 10:28 PM   #3
Zieth
Member
 
Zieth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 2,461
Zieth is offline
Default Re: Hotkeys and Control groups
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

1 - chick
2 - circle of power
__________________
FUTURE ALMIGHTINESS DOTA 2 COACH OF ALLTIME
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 01:51 AM   #4
snow.pika
Member
 
snow.pika's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,789
snow.pika is offline
Default Re: Hotkeys and Control groups
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Check out my sig @_@ It should work for normal DotA too, not just OMG.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 03:20 AM   #5
Moja
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 684
Moja is offline
Default Re: Hotkeys and Control groups
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Am I the only one who hotkeys most of the shops at base?..
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 07:09 AM   #6
sam9657
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
sam9657 is offline
Default Re: Hotkeys and Control groups
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

I use dota customkeys to put all my hero skills on F, D, R and ult on V.

Then I use autohotkey to remap my G to number pad 8 for inventory control.

Works great for me. The only down fall is that I get a lot of people asking me if my G key is broken.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 07:34 AM   #7
AxemanACL
Member
 
AxemanACL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 188
AxemanACL is offline
Default Re: Hotkeys and Control groups
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

I just use AutoWarkey. I have mapped the 3 left inventory spots to my mouse, and have added a bunch of text messages such as top mis, run bot, to ctrl+something by adding in my own custom code. I haven't bothered assigning skills to certain letters. I have played long enough I mostly have them all memorized. It is one of those things I keep on planning to do, but never get around to it, since I am doing fine as is.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
  Defense of the Ancients DotA Chat


Forum Jump

Thread Tools