Developer's Blog
Register Low Fi Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-14-2010, 12:17 AM   #1
[TyG]DarK
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 19
[TyG]DarK is offline

Default dota 2 minimum system requirements ?


Guys what u think will dota 2 need more higher system requirements then w3 ?


discuss
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 12:20 AM   #2
Bardenne
Member
 
Bardenne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Somewhere around the rainbow
Posts: 2,008
Bardenne is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Source engine.

You can guess the rest.
__________________
RIP
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 12:21 AM   #3
Faek
Member
 
Faek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 416
Faek is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Sure, but I don't think it'll be outrageous. Kinda like LoL/HoN
__________________
My Poof tweak suggestion, check it out if you have a hard time with Meepo

All kinds of feedback (except AM's) appreciated.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 12:24 AM   #4
jimmyvan
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hong Kong, Shanghai
Posts: 1,509
jimmyvan is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Of course. There is no reason for DotA 2 being less required than an 'ancient' game.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 12:26 AM   #5
~Maktor~
Member
 
~Maktor~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Jundiaí - SP, Brazil
Posts: 2,305
Blog Entries: 4
~Maktor~ is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

same minimum system requirements of starcraft II
__________________
.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 02:01 AM   #6
green.bear
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 741
green.bear is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Hmm. I thought starcraft two had highish reqs, is that wrong? This computer isn't super old and cobwebby, but I don't want to have to buy a computer + a game just to play dota.
__________________
Accounts: 1.classy.dude, christ.cookies, naiXXX, jewker, green.bear on AzerothEast.

My suggestion to replace Flamebreak with Echolocate.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 02:04 AM   #7
arisinhell
Member
 
arisinhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Your Closet..
Posts: 2,495
arisinhell is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

I hope DotA 2 will support old pcs as well.
They can just give you the option to turn off all the goodies.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheddardust View Post
Opinions are like assholes. Everybody's got one and everyone thinks everyone else's stinks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lama051 View Post
Toapapper: Played a 150 now. It isnt better than the first games.
Lama051: In that case problem might be between chair and PC
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 02:48 AM   #8
ChibiNya
Member
 
ChibiNya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mexico
Posts: 4,837
ChibiNya is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

^^^ That one might be called "Playing Warcraft 3 one"

I can guess, from those graphics, that it will demand enough for LOW starcraft II, and mind you, that isn't THAT high.

Probably for the decent setting youd want a 1gb~ video card, 4 Ram, 2.5 processor and just slightly better internet.

Wonder if it'll lag more/less...
__________________
Mew will review any replay you ask! PM mew~

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boss_Kobra View Post
Haters gonna WOOF

  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 03:04 AM   #9
Shadow Fury
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Draining Your Life Juice.
Posts: 10,187
Blog Entries: 2
Suggestion Award 
Shadow Fury is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

30 GB Ram, 200 GB HD. I mean, how the fuck do I know?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 03:10 AM   #10
germanturkey
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 62
germanturkey is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

1gb video ram? are you crazy?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 03:18 AM   #11
RuN|雅
Member
 
RuN|雅's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 237
RuN|雅 is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

#8 technically those specs u've suggested doesn't tell anything
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 03:25 AM   #12
Ichigo
Member
 
Ichigo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 996
Ichigo is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

The requirements should be higher, afterall it isn't an old game like WC3
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 03:51 AM   #13
King-Garfu
Member
 
King-Garfu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Etcetera.
Posts: 828
King-Garfu is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Quote:
Originally Posted by ~Maktor~ View Post
same minimum system requirements of starcraft II
What the hell. My laptop is so screwed
__________________


Polish photographer: Marcin Ryczek
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 04:14 AM   #14
ToT712
Member
 
ToT712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 908
ToT712 is online now
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

If you can play HL2/TF2/CSS/L4D you might be able to run dota 2.
However, if you can run Half-Life 2 Episode 2 my guess is that you can run dota 2 without a problem.
I think its too early to decide, the source engine is getting improved frequently, and until 2011 upgrades and PC prices will go down. So wait till the game is at beta stage and buy a compatible pc/upgrade.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 04:16 AM   #15
killerlot12
Member
 
killerlot12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 741
killerlot12 is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

dont be a cheap ass, buy a half decent comp (my current comp can run alien swarm) a little better than that would be nice.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 05:33 AM   #16
sniperattack
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,835
sniperattack is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

I think if you can run L4D then u can run it, pretty low spec
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 05:37 AM   #17
ramadan07
Member
 
ramadan07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: 6.69c map
Posts: 1,047
ramadan07 is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

it needs windows 95 with 4mb vga and 21" monitor

"trolling"
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 05:47 AM   #18
Stu
Member
 
Stu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 100
Stu is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Source recommended reqs 2.4 GHz Processor, 512MB RAM, DirectX 9 level graphics card. I guess this would be sufficent to play dota 2 also
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 07:22 AM   #19
sniperattack
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,835
sniperattack is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Windows 3!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 07:30 AM   #20
The_Reaping
Member
 
The_Reaping's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Home.
Posts: 2,082
The_Reaping is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

I'm going for;

Minimum specs:

2ghz processor
512mb ram
nVidia/ATI/Radeon/whatever graphics card 256mb perhaps? Not too knowledgeable on graphics cards
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 09:46 AM   #21
uchin4X
Member
 
uchin4X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dimana aku tinggal?
Posts: 1,163
uchin4X is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

16 mb ram, onboard vga
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by h-y View Post
and the worst of them is bloodseeker this guy will suck you blood like how akasha suck earthskaker's cock
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 10:22 AM   #22
-IncoGnitO
Member
 
-IncoGnitO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Greece
Posts: 2,548
-IncoGnitO is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

512 mb ram for XP|1 gig Vista/7|Recommended:1 gig for XP 2 for Vista/7
512mb GPU|1 gig recommended
2.0Ghz processor
Direct X 9.0c

These i guess
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 10:26 AM   #23
mfs_313
Member
 
mfs_313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,198
mfs_313 is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

minimum Starcraft 2 reqs.

Btw starcraft 2 minimum reqs arent that high.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by UTDC.Justin View Post
You can go bake your own cookies with ingredients available for everyone to use but it won't taste as good. Sure you might have helped him by suggesting him to add some sugar and reduce the cinnamon, but he decided exactly what went in and what did not go into the mixture. Ultimately, you're eating Icefrog cookies.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 10:29 AM   #24
g1mme
Member
 
g1mme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Under your left armpit!!
Posts: 118
g1mme is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

My System will meet any requirment, OK!!
__________________


GIVE ME INTERNETS!!!!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 11:08 AM   #25
Madchen
Member
 
Madchen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Herzegovina
Posts: 698
Madchen is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

If we gonna compare it to valves brand new games it will be something like this:
CPU: 3.0 GHz P4, Dual Core 2.0 or AMD64X2 (or higher)
RAM: 1 GB for XP / 2GB for Vista/7
Video: Direct X 9 compatible video card (Video card must be 256 MB or more and should be a DirectX 9-compatible with support for pixel shader 2.0)
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 11:13 AM   #26
GroundAttacker
Member
 
GroundAttacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,886
GroundAttacker is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

LOL go buy a new pc your fucking bums
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 11:32 AM   #27
Shatterman
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,208
Shatterman is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

yes finally no moar no-lifer asians to beat our western fat-asses
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 11:35 AM   #28
Dr Dota
Member
 
Dr Dota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: PeTa|inG_jAy@,mAl-A-sIa
Posts: 476
Dr Dota is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

LOL Asian Pwn Westerners ? BTW I think if you can play COD:MW2 you can 100% Play Dota 2...I can't wait...I'll switch back to Dota then...Now I'm playing FPS games :P
__________________

My version of Stone Glaze

Check out my Youtube channel here

  Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 12:45 PM   #29
Gheizen64
Member
 
Gheizen64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,627
Gheizen64 is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Quote:
Originally Posted by ~Maktor~ View Post
same minimum system requirements of starcraft II
Don't joke. Portal go decently on medium-high settings on a macbookpro, SC2 goes like a drunk even on lowest settings.
__________________
G.ZZZ on dota2.

Look my reorganization of the weapon shop for:
• Organized shop layout (ala Sena the Accesorizer)
• More unique +dmg items (BoA ,Broadswoard & Claymore)
• Items and recipes are more logical and intuitive
• Hammer is the old Javelin (the %chance fits naturaly in Basher + Mael)
• Desolator is now made from swords
and more!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 01:26 PM   #30
Arjun_AJ
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 43
Arjun_AJ is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Quote:
Originally Posted by ~Maktor~ View Post
same minimum system requirements of starcraft II
Thats good News,
Since my Rig Plays that well on medium settings on 1080P

\o/
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 03:29 PM   #31
darewin
Member
 
darewin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Philippines
Posts: 9,687
Blog Entries: 7
darewin is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Dota2.com
Q: What kind of hardware requirements will the game have? (by S.Hong)
A: We don’t have an official minimum spec just yet. The goal is to make sure that people with older computers and the PCs at LAN centers will be able to support the game, while also allowing for newer computers to scale well.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 04:43 PM   #32
RandomFlamer
Member
 
RandomFlamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,874
RandomFlamer is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

· OS: Windows XP SP2 / Windows Vista SP2 / Windows 7 (32/64-bit)
· Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad or AMD Phenom X4
· Memory: 3 GB Windows XP / 4 GB Windows Vista and Windows 7
· Video Card: 1 GB RAM, supporting Pixel Shader 3.0 (Nvidia GeForce GTX260 or ATI Radeon HD4850)
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 04:44 PM   #33
sunnymarcell
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6,400
Blog Entries: 1
sunnymarcell is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Quote:
Originally Posted by RandomFlamer View Post
· OS: Windows XP SP2 / Windows Vista SP2 / Windows 7 (32/64-bit)
· Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad or AMD Phenom X4
· Memory: 3 GB Windows XP / 4 GB Windows Vista and Windows 7
· Video Card: 1 GB RAM, supporting Pixel Shader 3.0 (Nvidia GeForce GTX260 or ATI Radeon HD4850)
i hope this will be dota 3's requirements
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 05:29 PM   #34
JuBa34
Member
 
JuBa34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Montpellier , France
Posts: 1,010
Blog Entries: 2
JuBa34 is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

game not released yet and you start shitty thread about system requirement ... serious ? sourCe engine yes , but WiCh one ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 06:02 PM   #35
Blarrg
Member
 
Blarrg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 6,037
Blarrg is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

I think we will know the minimum specs when they release them.

That's just my opinion though.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by damN_Grave View Post
Blarrg is awesome
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 12:04 AM   #36
vtor67
Member
 
vtor67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 60
vtor67 is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

protip: try tf2 because its free. that runs the source engine so that will give you the best idea (comparably) of the requirements for dota 2


Quote:
Originally Posted by JuBa34 View Post
game not released yet and you start shitty thread about system requirement ... serious ? sourCe engine yes , but WiCh one ?
theres only one source engine (unless you are referring to the slightly different branches of the source engine?). it will probably use an updated version of the portal 2 engine
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 12:10 AM   #37
Glac1al
Member
 
Glac1al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tohno Mansion
Posts: 14,204
Glac1al is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

GoldSource has a few modification games I love, but that's off-topic >_>

Quote:
Originally Posted by SMOKEDorc View Post
If we gonna compare it to valves brand new games it will be something like this:
CPU: 3.0 GHz P4, Dual Core 2.0 or AMD64X2 (or higher)
RAM: 1 GB for XP / 2GB for Vista/7
Video: Direct X 9 compatible video card (Video card must be 256 MB or more and should be a DirectX 9-compatible with support for pixel shader 2.0)
My PC can run even Crysis 2, but I don't like that sound quad cores make when you give them good pressure >_>
__________________

  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 12:12 AM   #38
psukkar
Member
 
psukkar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 603
psukkar is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Don't see why the requirements would be much higher than what u need to run cs on the source engine. Unless they are using new graphics engine ready for game to be release afterwards like half-life ep3 etc...

If you can cs-source/halflife 2 good settings i think you would be able to play the game well eneough.

Also Icefrog made point that he doesn't want too much eye candy on screen as it gets in the way of gameplay and hes absolutly right games like HoN is a good example. I still have a hard time picking out the terrain paths properly in the heat of the moment. lol
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 12:20 AM   #39
Cymen
Forum Staff
 
Cymen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4,780
Cymen is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Quote:
Originally Posted by vtor67 View Post
protip: try tf2 because its free. that runs the source engine so that will give you the best idea (comparably) of the requirements for dota 2
TF2 is a bad example.
People should try Alien Swarm which is also free. It runs on a more recent version of the Source engine and since it features effects and camera settings that will be used in DOTA 2, it should be a better way to test your machine.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 12:34 AM   #40
Gray_Fox
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Serbia
Posts: 1,871
Gray_Fox is offline
Default Re: dota 2 minimum system requirements ?
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

This is my guess:

Minimum requirements:

Processor:
Intel Core i7-990X 3.47 GHz (6 cores)

GPU:
GeForce GTX 590 3GB GDDR5

RAM:
16GB Mushkin DDR3

And about 1TB of HDD space.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
  Defense of the Ancients DotA Chat


Forum Jump

Thread Tools