Developer's Blog
Register Low Fi Mark Forums Read

Notices

Old 11-27-2011, 08:08 PM   #1
insanity99

Default How to choose what items to get? [dota2]

Hey guys. I am very new to dota. I still normally feed unless I'm Sniper or Shadow Shaman, who I'm best with so far.

I was wondering what kind of items I want? and How to determine while in game what to buy.

Thanks.
Old 11-27-2011, 08:35 PM   #2
poultryman

Default Re: How to choose what items to get? [dota2]

It's good that you're trying to learn, even though you have a 2010 pd account.. o.O

The items you get are pretty much determined by what hero you are playing. A general rule I follow is, if you are a support (most likely int) hero, get strength treads. The same goes if you are a low hp hero. Along a similar vein, get bracers if you realize you are getting ganked too much.

But whether or not you feed is not only based on what items you have. You have to make sure you look at the map every now and then to know whether or not you're going to get ganked.

Also, positioning in battles; if you're a hero like Sniper who just dps's from long range, make sure you're in the back, and don't initiate. If you're a nuker like lion, let your tanks take the damage and come in every now and then when your spells cool down.
Old 11-27-2011, 08:42 PM   #3
insanity99

Heh, this was my brothers account some time ago, but he moved away ages ago

Thanks for the advice. Yeah I am always forgetting to look at the map, which leads to many shock and awe ganks lol.

I like to attack with sniper from the trees, am I made visible while attacking? or does my strategy work?
Old 11-27-2011, 08:44 PM   #4
Super-sheep
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by insanity99 View Post
I like to attack with sniper from the trees, am I made visible while attacking? or does my strategy work?
You and a small area near you gets revealed when attacking outside of the opponents line of sight. This doesnt apply to the spells however.