Developer's Blog
Register Low Fi Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-18-2009, 10:40 AM   #1
jonskeez
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
jonskeez is offline

Default Glyph of Fortification


Add Glyph of Fortification button to the towers and buildings.

makes it quicker to activate fortify on towers instead of clicking on the circles
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 10:43 AM   #2
kanzakill
Member
 
kanzakill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,475
Blog Entries: 1
kanzakill is offline
Default Re: Glyph of Fortification

That is nice indeed

But this belongs to Others
__________________

My advertisement suggestions portfolio:
Damned portfolio

Check it out or I'll shoot be sad
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 10:44 AM   #3
FlamingFist
Member
 
FlamingFist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: PH
Posts: 1,627
Blog Entries: 6
FlamingFist is offline
Default Re: Glyph of Fortification

im neutral in this idea now,

needs more debate for weeks
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 12:45 PM   #4
Entropiestrom
Member
 
Entropiestrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 55
Entropiestrom is offline
Default Re: Glyph of Fortification

doesn't make it quicker. I always save my basecircle on "0" and it just takes 2 clicks to activate the glyph. but it'd make a lot easier for newbs imo
__________________

Aaaaaughibbrgurl and Olmai
Viper Nerf DotA 6.65!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 01:17 PM   #5
Travice
Member
 
Travice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 87
Travice is offline
Default Re: Glyph of Fortification

Quote:
Originally Posted by Entropiestrom View Post
doesn't make it quicker. I always save my basecircle on "0" and it just takes 2 clicks to activate the glyph. but it'd make a lot easier for newbs imo
Same here but replace "0" with "4", unless I'm playing meepo.


T-down for me.
__________________
Suggestions:
Adamantium Ward
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 01:23 PM   #6
DDimow
Member
 
DDimow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Essen,Germany
Posts: 144
DDimow is offline
Default Re: Glyph of Fortification

T-up
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 01:28 PM   #7
dominator02
Member
 
dominator02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Philippines
Steam: Dominator IV
Posts: 8,374
dominator02 is online now
Default Re: Glyph of Fortification

but will they share their control because if the scourge and sentinel share their control,we can control their creeps.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 03:44 PM   #8
FireMaster
Member
 
FireMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 29
Blog Entries: 1
FireMaster is offline
Default Re: Glyph of Fortification

Quote:
Originally Posted by dominator02 View Post
but will they share their control because if the scourge and sentinel share their control,we can control their creeps.
Right, I think there must a command like -glyph
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 03:50 PM   #9
Cp6uja
Member
 
Cp6uja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Serbia
Posts: 19,045
Blog Entries: 3
Guide Writing Award 
Cp6uja is offline
Default Re: Glyph of Fortification

Already suggested, I think.

Moved to Others.

OnTopi: T-Up!
__________________

Increase DotA speed for about 10 fps here. Want fast and stable DotA? Go here!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 04:05 PM   #10
atomchoco
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: PH
Posts: 280
atomchoco is offline
Default Re: Glyph of Fortification

1. Assign Circle of Power to a control group at the beginning of the game(Ctrl + 0-9 or Shift + 0-9)
2. Press "F" whenever Glyph is needed and not in cooldown.

Doing this helps you do a lot of things easier (disassemble, drop all items, take all items, blah).

T-down
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 07:33 PM   #11
Karakuri-Engeki
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 142
Karakuri-Engeki is offline
Default Re: Glyph of Fortification

T-Down....i think jz put on Courier is a lot better, since on CM we have to set 2 unit *Courier and Circle* is a quite hard~
__________________

Is my anti Drug

  Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 04:50 AM   #12
jonskeez
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
jonskeez is offline
Default Re: Glyph of Fortification

makes it easier for noobs like me lol
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 07:58 PM   #13
~Maktor~
Member
 
~Maktor~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Jundiaí - SP, Brazil
Posts: 2,308
Blog Entries: 4
~Maktor~ is offline
Default Re: Glyph of Fortification

t-up
__________________
.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 05:36 PM   #14
zer11
Member
 
zer11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 158
zer11 is offline
Default Re: Glyph of Fortification

Quote:
Originally Posted by zer11 View Post
I like much more when i can click glyph at every building and not at a circle in base.
You fight and while you wan't to make a glyph you need to go to base click on circle and press hotkey or click on it!

So make a glyph button on every building that is friendly and can be destroyed.
Thaught same^^
__________________
Check out my suggestions

  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 01:38 PM   #15
Ali Radicali
Member
 
Ali Radicali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Amsterdam, Holland
Posts: 3,674
Ali Radicali is offline
Default Re: Glyph of Fortification

I supported this when it was suggested at DA and I renew my support here. This is a very sensible suggestion, T-up.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 09:15 PM   #16
Mystique-
Member
 
Mystique-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 821
Mystique- is offline
Default Re: Glyph of Fortification

T-Up. As long as the Glyph cooldown is still universal for all allied buildings once the glyph on one building is activated!
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 11:23 PM   #17
PunKZ
Member
 
PunKZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lidköping, Sweden
Steam: FreakyIdiota
Posts: 4,474
Blog Entries: 2
PunKZ is offline
Default [Gameplay]Glyph of Fortification; Add to towers

This idea came from "Laidback" on Icefrogs blog. However, I don't know if you can actually do it without giving control of the sentinel to the players.

Quote:
And I also got an idea for DotA. I think it would be helpful if you could put Glyph of Fortification icon on every tower. So you don't need to click on your Circle of Power everytime to use GOF, just click on the tower that is attacked/occupied..
Thoughts? I just think it would be much easier to use that way.
__________________
My youtube channel:
http://www.youtube.com/user/PunKZ1991
Stop by if you feel like it!
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 11:37 PM   #18
NoThlnG
Member
 
NoThlnG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nowhere
Posts: 15,201
Blog Entries: 8
Awesome 
NoThlnG is offline
Default Re: [Gameplay]Glyph of Fortification; Add to tower

1. IIRC, this was already suggested. For idea, T-Up
2. Wrong forum. Post this on others subforum
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 12:26 AM   #19
lvndr
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 59
lvndr is offline
Default Re: [Gameplay]Glyph of Fortification; Add to tower

You can select your Circle of Power and press Ctrl+1 at the beginning of the game, and just press 1 + F to activate the Fortification.

I don't think it needs a remake.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 12:29 AM   #20
LulzYeah
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Meh..
Posts: 2,534
Blog Entries: 7
LulzYeah is offline
Default Re: [Gameplay]Glyph of Fortification; Add to tower

Quote:
Originally Posted by lvndr View Post
You can select your Circle of Power and press Ctrl+1 at the beginning of the game, and just press 1 + F to activate the Fortification.

I don't think it needs a remake.
This is the best way to go. Though, I usually put it on Ctrl + 3
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 12:56 AM   #21
PunKZ
Member
 
PunKZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lidköping, Sweden
Steam: FreakyIdiota
Posts: 4,474
Blog Entries: 2
PunKZ is offline
Default Re: [Gameplay]Glyph of Fortification; Add to tower

Quote:
Originally Posted by LulzYeah View Post
This is the best way to go. Though, I usually put it on Ctrl + 3
And I on Ctrl + 2. Still it would be a nice feature I think.
__________________
My youtube channel:
http://www.youtube.com/user/PunKZ1991
Stop by if you feel like it!
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 02:40 AM   #22
BeautyToilet
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 19
BeautyToilet is offline
Default Re: [Gameplay]Glyph of Fortification; Add to tower

cant be add to tower .. if add to tower.. mean u can control that tower..
its right?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 01:53 PM   #23
Cp6uja
Member
 
Cp6uja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Serbia
Posts: 19,045
Blog Entries: 3
Guide Writing Award 
Cp6uja is offline
Default Re: [Gameplay]Glyph of Fortification; Add to tower

I think its already suggested. If anyone finds it, report this one.

Moved to Others.
__________________

Increase DotA speed for about 10 fps here. Want fast and stable DotA? Go here!
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2009, 05:32 PM   #24
ResQ
Member
 
ResQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,676
Blog Entries: 2
Guide Writing Award 
ResQ is offline
Default Re: [Gameplay]Glyph of Fortification; Add to tower

T-up. Very good suggestion.
__________________


Legends of DotA has a new home: www.legendsofdota.com
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 01:21 PM   #25
Dynes
Member
 
Dynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,866
Blog Entries: 4
Dynes is offline
Default Re: Glyph of Fortification

Assign a number for the glyph, null on the idea.
__________________
Dynes: I don't believe you. /care
My suggestions on my blog.
I'm sold!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 05:29 AM   #26
Mystique-
Member
 
Mystique-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 821
Mystique- is offline
Default Re: [Gameplay]Glyph of Fortification; Add to tower

Personally, I find this unnecessary. Binding it to a specific key, such as 3, is suitable and enough. Don't want to spoon-feed players everything!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 09:53 AM   #27
dominator02
Member
 
dominator02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Philippines
Steam: Dominator IV
Posts: 8,374
dominator02 is online now
Default Re: [Gameplay]Glyph of Fortification; Add to tower

Quote:
Originally Posted by n!ght View Post
T-up. Very good suggestion.
this.
__________________

  Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 03:46 PM   #28
Mr.Cause
Member
 
Mr.Cause's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 122
Blog Entries: 3
Mr.Cause is offline
Default Re: [Gameplay]Glyph of Fortification; Add to tower

You could give the towers the "shop sell item" ability and make a dummy item based off of a tome or something. Then just "buy" the glyph for free to activate it. Easy solution to add it to towers.
T-Up
__________________
Design Philosophy –
Great design requires a harmony between its aesthetic appeal and functionality that is exemplary.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 04:17 PM   #29
Amoe
Member
 
Amoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,158
Blog Entries: 3
Amoe is offline
Default Re: [Gameplay]Glyph of Fortification; Add to tower

definitely worth a t-up
__________________
./-~~-\.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 04:30 PM   #30
Audacious
Member
 
Audacious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: In the world Platon doesn't believe in.
Steam: Audacious or Mik_Nad
Posts: 5,635
Blog Entries: 10
Audacious is offline
Default Re: [Gameplay]Glyph of Fortification; Add to tower

T-up
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 04:35 PM   #31
nix
Member
 
nix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,259
Guide Writing Award 
nix is offline
Default Re: [Gameplay]Glyph of Fortification; Add to tower

Quote:
Originally Posted by PunKZ View Post
And I on Ctrl + 2. Still it would be a nice feature I think.
Same, since my hero is Ctrl+1.

This idea could be a nice idea for a change to -st (-supertowers) mode, where every tower could have its own short-cooldown glyph.

In its current state, T-down for me, I wouldn't ever use this feature.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 01:14 AM   #32
backspaceed
Member
 
backspaceed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Singapore Truly
Posts: 369
backspaceed is offline
Default Re: [Gameplay]Glyph of Fortification; Add to tower

does icefrog means that there are individual glyphs for each tower? ill t-d on that
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 01:32 AM   #33
Zangetsu2201
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Romania
Posts: 4,496
Blog Entries: 6
Zangetsu2201 is offline
Default Re: [Gameplay]Glyph of Fortification; Add to tower

Quote:
Originally Posted by backspaceed View Post
does icefrog means that there are individual glyphs for each tower? ill t-d on that
No, it just means that the Glyph icon will show on all towers but, when activated, will work normally, granting the huge armor to all your buildings. This will help if the enemies are hitting a tower and you don't have the time to normally select glyph.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 01:54 AM   #34
Shamanics
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Deep in the ocean
Posts: 2,286
Shamanics is offline
Default Re: [Gameplay]Glyph of Fortification; Add to tower

Would help with chen, encha, BM and visage since normally you make many groups with them, like 7 or more sometimes.
So T-Up.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 06:54 PM   #35
Burndead
Member
 
Burndead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Posts: 1,278
Blog Entries: 1
Burndead is offline
Default Re: [Gameplay]Glyph of Fortification; Add to tower

I'm also for implementing this. Like stated before, some situations needs quick pushing of GOF and sometimes you just don't have time to do it. My shortkey scirpt doesn't allow me to bind ctrl+numbers, so...

T-UP
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 12:08 AM   #36
Shamanics
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Deep in the ocean
Posts: 2,286
Shamanics is offline
Default Re: [Gameplay]Glyph of Fortification; Add to tower

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burndead View Post
I'm also for implementing this. Like stated before, some situations needs quick pushing of GOF and sometimes you just don't have time to do it. My shortkey scirpt doesn't allow me to bind ctrl+numbers, so...

T-UP
Your script sucks :S
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 12:37 PM   #37
[SOM]Js
Member
 
[SOM]Js's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kuala Lumpur, MYS
Posts: 594
Blog Entries: 1
[SOM]Js is offline
Default Re: [Gameplay]Glyph of Fortification; Add to tower

why not make the tower nearly unclickable, such as BM's web, then put a dummy unit as big and east to click as Centaur to trigger the Glyph infront the tower? i just thought of this but i dono how to make a map on this... t-up
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 01:47 PM   #38
BRUT.ward
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 32
BRUT.ward is offline
Default Re: [Gameplay]Glyph of Fortification; Add to tower

Useless idea.
Why?

In dota you have some situations when you know that you will be killed. In that case from beginning of game I use ctrl+3 on my sircle.
That gives me few advantages:
1. I can switch fast to shops at base and decide what to buy.
2. I can use Glyph of Fortification very fast.

So that adding isnt necessary
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 04:36 AM   #39
Captain Planet
Member
 
Captain Planet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Frieza Planet 419, because nobody ever goes to Frieza Planet 419
Steam: Freaky Alien Genotype
Posts: 20,250
Blog Entries: 6
Guide Writing Award Guide Writing Award Suggestion Award 
Captain Planet is offline
Default Re: [Gameplay]Glyph of Fortification; Add to tower

Regarding having to give away control of the towers...*cough*Infest*cough*
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 06:16 AM   #40
Foede
Forum Manager
 
Foede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Elysian Fields
Steam: foede
Posts: 17,646
Awesome 
Foede is offline
Default Re: [Gameplay]Glyph of Fortification; Add to tower

Merged both threads.
  Reply With Quote
Last edited by Foede; 04-17-2010 at 06:22 AM.
Reply
  Defense of the Ancients Suggestions Others


Forum Jump

Thread Tools