Developer's Blog
Register Low Fi Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-11-2012, 08:15 AM   #1
JiFlat
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 0
JiFlat is offline

Unhappy Dota 2 Network Problem


I've been playing Dota 2 for 3 weeks already and I have this problem since I had Dota 2 on my PC. Every time I open Dota 2 on my desktop, my Dota 2 would stop on the main loading screen and display this message of Connecting to the Dota 2 Network. But I'm still able to play it if I open Dota 2 via steam client... no Connecting to the Dota 2 blah blah. It is just a hustle for me open the client and doing the same thing over and over again. Can someone help me fix the problem?

P.S.:
I've tried to put Dota 2 on the Firewall's exception list, but still no luck.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 08:20 AM   #2
Noxonius
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: In the nether reaches
Posts: 3,698
Blog Entries: 15
Noxonius is offline
Default Re: Dota 2 Network Problem
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

I don't understand your question, since the only way to play the game is via steam.
Most the time the problem fixes after restarting steam, but if it's happening all the time to you, re-install the game.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 08:22 AM   #3
Inreet
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,763
Inreet is offline
Default Re: Dota 2 Network Problem
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

DEV.DOTA2.COM
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 08:28 AM   #4
ryuuketssu
Member
 
ryuuketssu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 25
ryuuketssu is offline
Default Re: Dota 2 Network Problem
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Quote:
Originally Posted by JiFlat View Post
I've been playing Dota 2 for 3 weeks already and I have this problem since I had Dota 2 on my PC. Every time I open Dota 2 on my desktop, my Dota 2 would stop on the main loading screen and display this message of Connecting to the Dota 2 Network. But I'm still able to play it if I open Dota 2 via steam client... no Connecting to the Dota 2 blah blah. It is just a hustle for me open the client and doing the same thing over and over again. Can someone help me fix the problem?

P.S.:
I've tried to put Dota 2 on the Firewall's exception list, but still no luck.
This happens if the Dota shortcut on the desktop was made by you (i.e you went into the Dota folder and did the 'Right click --> Send to desktop' thing).

Try this : Go into Steam --> Games --> Right Click Dota --> Create Shortcut on desktop.

For some reason, when you create a shortcut for Dota from Windows explorer, it launches the game, but seems to ignore Steam.


~Ryuu
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 08:48 AM   #5
JiFlat
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 0
JiFlat is offline
Default Re: Dota 2 Network Problem
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryuuketssu View Post
This happens if the Dota shortcut on the desktop was made by you (i.e you went into the Dota folder and did the 'Right click --> Send to desktop' thing).

Try this : Go into Steam --> Games --> Right Click Dota --> Create Shortcut on desktop.

For some reason, when you create a shortcut for Dota from Windows explorer, it launches the game, but seems to ignore Steam.


~Ryuu
Thanks man! This fixed the Problem! hehe.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 03:30 PM   #6
milos87popovic
Member
 
milos87popovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 177
milos87popovic is offline
Default Re: Dota 2 Network Problem
Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

I had the same problem when I started dota2 from "Stream" everything worked well.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
  Defense of the Ancients DotA Chat


Forum Jump

Thread Tools